Sailing the Coast of Chicago

For quite some time, I’ve joked to those that would listen, that I needed a friend within Chicago who had access to a boat. From the day that we arrived to Chicago back in the summer of 2010, then continually compounded by our usual summer drives along Lake Shore Drive; I’ve watched enviously as others enjoyed their summer days boating, strolling, lapping and rocking along the shores of Lake Michigan. For 4 years, it fell upon deaf ears.

They say patience in a virtue. However, that patience and virtue came in the form of a man by the name of David. Not only was he a virtue, he was a God send! Direct from the motherland of England. 🙂 That’s one good looking English chap, no?

We met on a soccer/football pitch, exchanged pleasantries, found him to be a rather good footballer (aren’t all Englishmen good footballers?), a social/fun chap to be around and as luck would have it…a sailor at heart. I feel as though fate brought this friendship together for many reasons, but I can categorically state we were brought together to fulfill my wish of boating/sailing the shores of Chicago and Lake Michigan. Sorry, David. But this I know to be true.

There is something to be said about sailing; being directed by the force of nature and her winds…it’s organic. No electronics (to an extent) and being somewhat at the mercy of mother nature is something I find, relaxing. Just close my eyes and send me adrift. And after a time, I forgot that I was even in Chicago, even with it’s beautiful skyline in full view. The rhythmic rocking of the boat along the waves would send my mind off to another place…a creative place possibly…but it was a feeling of peace, ease and tranquility.

But enough with the semantics…

No sailing is complete until the drinks are poured. 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was beautiful and perfectly windy day for sailing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

‘We learn the ropes of life, by untying its knots.’

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The other guests…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Your father and grandfather’s captain. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The view from below deck.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And my absolute favorite of the bunch…Adrift.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cheers!